FC Barça

Alright I’m going to be completely honest and say that I didn’t know Barcelona’s fútbol team was called the Barça when I applied to the program. During my entrance interview with our program director, she threw “Barça” into the conversation and I nodded and smiled and made a mental note about Googling it as soon as I left the room. Once I arrived in Barcelona, however, there was absolutely no doubt in my mind what the Barça was…

Yes I’m more of a hockey, football, and baseball girl myself but I can get behind any good sporting event. So, when some friends from Mizzou who are studying in Alicante, Spain, messaged me on Facebook saying they couldn’t use their tickets on Valentine’s Day anymore, I jumped on the opportunity. They were set to play Celta Vigo, a team from the Galicia region in Spain, and my three girlfriends and I could not be more excited.

 

Like true Spanish fútbol fans, we went out for tapas and then made our way over to Camp Nou (the FC Barça stadium). We had never experienced a metro ride as crowded as that one. At one point we were sprinting down the platform from door to door trying to look for some kind souls who would let us squeeze in with them. Finally, I pushed my roommate in front of me and said “We’re small; it’ll be fine!” We made it to the stadium during the Spanish national anthem and when we emerged from the staircase (and into the nosebleeds), we couldn’t help squealing with excitement. Finding our seats was a little IMG_2794difficult, as no one spoke English, but we were all able to sit down so we just sat where the usher placed us. We were so amazed by the beauty of the stadium (the turf was in a plaid pattern, come on!) that it took us a minute or so to realize the game had started. Messi was the first to score and the entire stadium started bowing and chanting his name. Europeans’ dedication to their professional sports players definitely rivals Americans’.

 

Then, Vigo scored and we began to worry Barça might lose the one game we could afford to attend. We didn’t need to worry long, though, because Suarez, Messi and others led the Barça to a 6-1 victory. Throughout the game we attempted to join in on the chants, which were all in Catalan, and laughed as we failed every time. I was impressed by how full the stadium remained throughout the match. Even when the Barça’s victory was all but sealed, almost every seat was taken. One man behind us and to our right kept up a stream of insults and obscenities throughout the match, and everyone was on the edge of his or her seats whenever the ball came within yards of a goal. After the match, one of my friends and I struggled through the victory song, finishing long after every other person who actually knew it in our section.

 

Even though the only word I could understand during the chants was Barça and we almost could not have been any higher up in the stands, the experience was unlike any other sporting event I had ever attended.

 

PS: Can you blame us for struggling through this?

 

El Cant del Barça

Tot el camp

és un clam

som la gent blaugrana

Tant se val d’on venim

si del sud o del nord

ara estem d’acord, ara estem d’acord,

una bandera ens agermana.

Blaugrana al vent

un crit valent

tenim un nom el sap tothom:

Barça, Barça, Baaarça!

 

Jugadors, seguidors,

tots units fem força.

Son molt anys plens d’afanys,

son molts gols que hem cridat

i s’ha demostrat, i s’ha demostrat,

que mai ningu no ens podrà torcer.

Blaugrana al vent

un crit valent

tenim un nom el sap tothom:

Barça, Barça, Baaarça!

Leave a Reply

