Niki Finn

Niki is a sophomore studying business management with an emphasis in entrepreneurship and a minor in hospitality and management. Some day she hopes to open her own restaurant or bakery in Chicago. She is social chair for her sorority and when she’s not planning events she’s most likely singing “High School Musical” at the top of her lungs with her best friend Mackenzie. Niki is one of my good friend’s “little sisters” in their sorority, so I’ve gotten to know her pretty well. She is a little bundle of energy who has tons of leadership potential. I was able to talk with her to learn a younger student’s perspective on dating in college.

  1. Are you currently dating someone?

I am not.

 

  1. When was your last relationship? (Or the last time you went on a date)

Ooh… my last relationship was probably about two to three months ago.

 

  1. Why did it end?

Because he felt that we should just be friends so that he could meet other people… typical boy… he said ‘possibly second semester [we would get back together].’

 

  1. How long was your longest relationship? When was that?

A year and six months, from December of my senior year of high school (2013) to January 2015

Niki

Niki poses with her first boyfriend after cheer practice in fall 2011. The two ended their relationship on good terms and still talk to this day. Photo courtesy of Niki Finn.

  1. What do you think are some of the differences between dating in high school versus dating in college?

Dating in high school I feel like it’s not as important, but the relationships last longer because you see them every day and you’re more likely to hang out with them because you’re not as busy as you are in college.

Dating in college is much harder because there are a lot of guys that don’t want to be committed because I feel like once they feel committed then they feel like they have to marry you right away, and that sometimes scares them away. And that’s why they always say they want to meet other girls because they don’t want to just have one girl the rest of their life. They’re unsure of that right now. And I feel like that’s what my last boyfriend did.

 

  1. How would you describe the dating scene here at Mizzou?

I think it’s definitely a toss up, which is more I see so many people getting into relationships or people who are having long ones from a long time ago or from last year, but there are also people hooking up with different people, like a different person every single week. So, it’s definitely like a big mash up.

 

  1. How would you describe the dating scene for people age 18-22?

Mmm yeah I think Mizzou is definitely a good representation because, I mean, that’s our age group. [I don’t think Mizzou is any different] I definitely think it’s just our age group because I have a lot of friends at other schools who are experiencing the same exact things at their school.

It goes back to that same mentality of the guys don’t want to date the girls because they don’t want to commit themselves for the rest of their lives because they’re not sure what they want yet and that’s why they’re just like, ‘I really like you and I have feelings for you, but I’m going to try someone new because I don’t’ want to like date you because if I date you I’m not going to date anyone else for the rest of my life.’

 

  1. How do you normally meet people?

Usually just meet them in class or at an event like a football game. I met a couple people on Tinder *laughs*. I know a lot of people who are dating people they met off Tinder, but there are also some really big weirdos on Tinder.

 

  1. Would you say that most of your friends have found long-term relationships at school? Why do you think that is?

My friends in general… I have a couple of them who have long-term relationships, but most of my friends don’t have people. They have people they have like a ‘thing’ with, but they don’t have people that they’re dating because they’re kind of like in the same boat. I feel like junior and senior year is more when people should start dating people. I feel like freshman, sophomore people are just trying out different people. And so, it’s kind of like as the years go on the closer you should get to finding someone you want to be with, not saying that you have to be with someone at any time, but that’s around the age most people find people.

 

  1. If you could tell your freshman self something about dating in college what would it be?

I’d say to expect the unexpected and if you really think you’re into a guy you really have to give yourself time to actually know him and actually talk to him for a while before dating or before hooking up with him or anything because you will get your hopes up for stuff and it will just completely break you when you least expect it. And, I don’t want someone else to have to feel that way, the way that I did. So, just give them a lot of time before getting your hopes up about actually dating.

Leave a Reply

