Claire Farina

I met Claire in an English class my sophomore year in high school. She and I were in similar circles, but had never had the opportunity to get to know each other. Our first project was to give a speech introducing our partner, and we were randomly placed together. As our friend groups merged because of mutual friends’ relationships, I pinpointed Claire as an honest, dependable friend. Because we’re both so passionate and strong-willed, however, we would butt heads over petty high school drama. We all graduated from good old Benet Academy in spring 2013, and Claire and I kept in touch most often out of any of our friends. Now, five years after our awkward meeting, we are frequently mistaken as sisters because of our similar mannerisms and appearances. I don’t know where I would be without her. She is currently a junior at Marquette University in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, studying accounting. She is the vice president of finance for her sorority and is a member of Beta Alpha Psi honors accounting organizations. As if she doesn’t have enough going on, she decided to pick up intramural inner tube water polo and soccer this past year. Not surprisingly, we spent as much time as possible together over Thanksgiving break, and, during some of that time, I was able to get her perspective on dating in college.

  1. Are you currently dating someone?

No.

 

  1. When was your last relationship? (Or the last time you went on a date)

Um, what classifies a date? *laughs* beginning of fall semester.

 

  1. Why did it end?

Um, he didn’t get along with my friends. He made a rude comment to one of my friends and then they all kind of started to hate him, and then I decided to end things after that.

 

  1. How long was your longest relationship? When was that?

A year and a half and it ended March of this year.

IMG_3798

Claire’s first boyfriend helps her show off her corsage before the turnabout dance in February 2012. Claire’s longest relationship was during her freshman and sophomore years in college. Photo courtesy of Claire Farina.

  1. What do you think are some of the differences between dating in high school versus dating in college?

Dating in high school I think is more based on friend groups and dating to have a label. I think dating in college I think is more casual and kind of seeing more what you like and actually dating for the purpose of dating.

  1. How would you describe the dating scene at Marquette?

I would say in my friend group it’s a lot more, mm well it’s kind of changed but, a lot more relationships or dating around and not so much hook ups, but the culture at Marquette, I think, comparatively to a lot of bigger schools it’s not as much of a hook up culture. But I think that it’s a common thing to date around and see what you like. Relationships too, I would see there are probably more relationships at Marquette.

Yeah, I would say so, I don’t know, I prefer more the dating and getting to know people on a sober level. I think it makes it more real of the world after college, which is cool.

 

  1. How would you describe the dating scene for people age 18-22?

I think 18 to 22 year olds date around, learn about themselves, learn what they like and don’t like, whether that’s casual dates or relationships, but I think Marquette is pretty representative of that, maybe more so of dating just because we’re like a Catholic Jesuit school. Hm, I’m learning new things *laughs.*

 

  1. How do you normally meet people?

Mmm, classes and friends of friends, well sometimes parties.

 

  1. Would you say that most of your friends have found long-term relationships at school? Why do you think that is?

In college? Two of my good friends have found long-term relationships in high school, we’ll see if those work out… One of my friends has met someone in college that goes to a different college, but so far not yet.

I think because they’re still trying to date around and figure out what they want and they just haven’t found it yet. They haven’t found their soul mate *laughs* blah.

 

  1. If you could tell your freshman self something about dating in college what would it be?

Don’t. No, just kidding. I would say be open to anything and any opportunities because you never know, it’s a big learning experience I would say.

Leave a Reply

