Blair Thall

Blair is currently dating my friend Kylie, who I interviewed previously in this blog. He is working towards his Associate’s in business at Moberly Area Community College and is an assistant manager at Finish Line at Columbia Mall. He’s a huge sports fan and likes playing video games with his roommates in his free time. He and Kylie were introduced by a member of mine and Kylie’s sorority a little over a year ago and, although there have been some bumps along the way, they’ve been dating since then. Since he doesn’t attend Mizzou, he was able to provide a different take on dating in your early 20s.

1. Are you currently dating someone?
Yes I am.

2. When was your last relationship? (Or the last time you went on a date)
Before that? It was high school my senior year.

3. Why did it end?
Um, college, we were different ages and I just… I don’t know… I was going to college and said deuces.

4. How long was your longest relationship? When was that?
Currently and it is 13, 14, 13 months I think? No 15, sorry *counts on his hands.*

Blair and his first girlfriend enjoy a football game in 2012. The two attended high school together in Centralia, Missouri. Photo courtesy of Blair Thall.

Blair and his first girlfriend enjoy a football game in 2012. The two attended high school together in Centralia, Missouri. Photo courtesy of Blair Thall.

5. What do you think are some of the differences between dating in high school versus dating in college?
The biggest thing is just no parental guidance, I mean your parents aren’t there to just randomly pop in the room or anything like that. Also, just freedom in general. Hanging out in most of your free time, because in high school you didn’t have as much free time to just hang out with your friends as you do in college.

6. How would you describe the dating scene at Mizzou?
I’ve got a lot of friends that go to Mizzou and I’d say that, from what I’ve seen, it actually has been pretty varied through all. I mean, I know the people who do just go around and hook up, but I’ve got a lot of friends who are in relationships and then I’ve got the single guys who don’t even want to talk to any girls, so and they’re just doing the college thing. So, I think I’ve got people, friends, in almost every situation.

7. How would you describe the dating scene for people age 18-22?
You’re still in college, this could be your first boyfriend or girlfriend you’ve ever had and you still haven’t gone on to your career to meet more people, maybe even find the one or something like that. There’s no obligation to your husband or wife being your first boyfriend or girlfriend after high school.
I think people are looking to the future for a relationship I think there’s just a lot
of hooking up along the way of finding that one.

8. How do you normally meet people?
Just at parties and stuff like that and I think I did use Tinder for a little bit too so if you want to put that Tinder down too *smiles and laughs to himself.*

9. Would you say that most of your friends have found long-term relationships at school? Why do you think that is?
No, I’d say that of my friends there was more long-term relationships that we had in high school, being from a small town, you just kind of grew up with the same people. So, there would be people dating in middle school that ended up dating through high school.
It’s just not the social norm as much anymore, it’s kind of turned with, like, the Tinder/social media hookup thing. I think it has turned to more hooking up than anything now.

10. If you could tell your freshman self something about dating in college what would it be?
Some advice? Don’t settle for bad or ugly randos.

Leave a Reply

