Megan Miller

I met Megan during Panhellenic formal recruitment in the fall of 2014. We bonded over the fact that both of us had relatives affected by Alzheimer’s Disease and how difficult it was to see our loved ones battle the neurodegenerative illness. From the day I met her, I knew I wanted to mentor her throughout her years at Mizzou. So, after she rushed Sigma Kappa, I chose her as my little sister. Although the whole “Big/Little” thing seems really shallow and basic from the outside, that does not describe mine and Megan’s relationship. We are very different people: She is an elementary education major and wants to teach in a rural area after she graduates. If I had not met her during recruitment, I am positive that I never would have been given the opportunity to help her study for her exams, talk her through break-ups or just be there whenever she needs advice. For that, I am really grateful. When she isn’t studying or being involved in sorority functions, Megan is working at a daycare. She was kind enough to give me a little time on her Halloween to be interviewed and talk about her opinions on dating in college.

  1. Are you currently dating someone?

No, I am not currently dating anyone.

  1. When was your last relationship? (Or the last time you went on a date)

Oh God.. hold on let me think… the last time I went on a date? Valentine’s Day 2015

Before that, my actual relationship was November to February of 2014/2015, senior year in high school

It’s more free in college and it’s more fun whenever you’re single sometimes and

because I haven’t found the one.

  1. Why did it end?

Because I broke up with him because I was going to college, and I was freaking out because I read stuff on twitter about like either you marry that person or you break up. And, I got scared.

  1. How long was your longest relationship? When was that?

Two years, ninth grade until junior year, it was off and on.

Miller poses with the most recent guy she was dating at Sigma Kappa's 2015 spring formal. She deleted every other picture of her previous boyfriends, so she did not have any older ones unfortunately. Photo courts of Megan Miller.

Miller poses with the most recent guy she was dating at Sigma Kappa’s 2015 spring formal. She deleted every other picture of her previous boyfriends, so she did not have any older ones unfortunately. Photo courts of Megan Miller.

  1. What do you think are some of the differences between dating in high school versus dating in college?

It’s easier to commit in high school because you’re always around that person and then in college it’s so much variety and different people.

There’s just so many more people that you have more potential people.

  1. How would you describe the dating scene here at Mizzou?

I feel like it’s balanced; like there’s a lot of people in committed relationships like you see them walking around on campus holding hands and kissing and then there’s like a lot of people that just go to frats and hook up and stuff like that.

  1. How would you describe the dating scene for people age 18-22?

I think Mizzou is a good representation because there’s a lot of people dating and a lot of people who aren’t dating.

  1. How do you normally meet people?

I usually meet people through friends or at a party or if we have to work on projects together, something for class, something that’s hands-on where you have to talk.

I’d say the ones you meet through your friends because if they’re friends with your friends, clearly they’re ok. At a party, they could have something about them you don’t like.

  1. Would you say that most of your friends have found long-term relationships at school? Why do you think that is?

No *laughs* Cause so many people are just looking to be hook ups or whatever and not actual long-term relationships.

Sometimes I like that, but I don’t know… I like it for whenever I don’t want a boyfriend, but then whenever I want a boyfriend it kind of sucks.

  1. If you could tell your freshman self something about dating in college what would it be?

Just to wait for the right one to come along and don’t rush anything

Leave a Reply

