Jacob Kornhauser

Unrelated to the Jacob directly below but also a dorm friend, Jacob lived on the same floor as me freshman year and quickly became a core member of our friend group. Jacob is a junior Sports Broadcast Journalism major who hopes to work for ESPN or the MLB Network when he graduates. He currently works at KOMU, Mizzou’s NBC-affiliated television station. As a fellow reporting journalism major, I understand how time-consuming broadcast can be, especially while working shifts at KOMU. Jacob is also fascinated by sports and might know the biggest amount trivial statistics out of anyone I know. He plays rec sports with some of the other guys from our floor and is also involved with the Missouri Suicide Prevention Coalition. I managed to pin him down in between all of that to answer a couple questions about dating in college.

  1. Are you currently dating someone?

No

  1. When was your last relationship? (Or the last time you went on a date)

Um… let’s see I’ve gotta do some math here. This is depressing *laughs* February of last year…?

  1. Why did it end?

Long distance: It just wasn’t worth it anymore, I guess. I don’t know, it was a mixture of that and ‘I kind of want to experience college if they’re not gonna be here.’

  1. How long was your longest relationship? When was that?

It was that one and it was about 2 and a ½ years.

Jacob Kornhauser sits with his girlfriend of two and 1/2 years in January 2012. The two broke up in February 2014. Photo courtesy of Jacob Kornhauser.

Jacob Kornhauser sits with his girlfriend of two and 1/2 years in January 2012. The two broke up in February 2014. Photo courtesy of Jacob Kornhauser.

  1. What do you think are some of the differences between dating in high school versus dating in college?

Dating in college seems much less committed than high school. It’s much more casual I guess. Because in high school you kind of have this, well not everyone but, most people have this false idea in their mind like ‘oh my gosh, I’m gonna marry this person.’ And by college, you’re like ‘probably not, so I’ll just be realistic about it. But, I don’t know, that’s kind of how I see the differences between the two.

  1. How would you describe the dating scene here at Mizzou?

I’d say more casual and not super committed, there’s obviously some people, but I feel like if you’re meeting at Mizzou, it’s not as much. Obviously it can get more serious, but I feel like it’s almost harder to get serious in college than in high school.

I feel like there’s just so many more people, that you’re kind of like ‘there’s so many options, so why settle for this person?’ And in some high schools, my high school was a decent size, but in some there’s not that many people, so it’s not like you’re choosing from a huge pool of people. But, at Mizzou, you’re like, ‘Well, I kinda wanna see’ and make sure that it’s not just some random person that you meet. It forces you to be more selective I feel like.

  1. How would you describe the dating scene for people age 18-22?

I think it’s a pretty good representation of a normal college scene.

[There are] probably more hook ups but there can be committed relationships. People just kind of want to have fun, I guess. But, I mean there are plenty of committed relationships as well. I’d probably say, if I had to guess, maybe like 60:40 hookups. It’s not like it’s 90 percent.

  1. How do you normally meet people?

I guess just going out and meeting new people, because I feel like once you are in a friend group, it’s kind of weird and not even awkward, but you know it could be awkward eventually. So, you’re more hesitant to do that. I feel like meeting someone that you kind of just meet, maybe with a group of friends, but you establish a connection with them and not part of the friend group I guess, then you can kind of go from there.

  1. Would you say that most of your friends have found long-term relationships at school? Why do you think that is?

No… *laughs* One, a lot of my friends are journalism majors and there’s not a lot of time for super-committed relationships if you’re a journalism major. I just don’t think that they’re really looking for one necessarily, and I feel like I’m kind of the same way. If one falls into your lap, obviously sure but you’re not trying to just jump into anything.

  1. If you could tell your freshman self something about dating in college what would it be?

That’s a tough one… I guess don’t just jump into the first thing that comes up because it’s not like high school where you have fewer options. Get out and meet a variety of people and then if one person sticks out in your head out of whatever people you meet, then maybe pursue that I guess? In terms of like actual dating, I… ‘Be a gentleman?’ I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

