Dylan Demkowicz

Dylan lived in my dorm freshman year and, although he wasn’t on the same floor, he started hanging out with our guy friends and was inducted into the group. He is a junior (hopefully) accounting major and a member of Alpha Kappa Psi business fraternity. Within his fraternity, he helps guide new members through the pledging process, but when he is not spending time with his brothers, he can be found tutoring students in the MU Writing Center. Dylan knows more sports stats than anyone I have ever met (besides maybe our friend Jacob) and will sacrifice pretty much any social event to watch NFL football. I can always count on him to keep me humble by making fun of me mercilessly, though jokingly. I managed to catch him outside the Writing Center to answer some questions about his views on dating in college.

1. Are you currently dating someone?

No

2. When was your last relationship (or the last time you went on a date)?

 

Well, I guess it [my last relationship] ended in February, so that would’ve been the last time I went on a date.

3. Why did it end?

 

My ex-girlfriend and I were dating long-distance. She goes to school in Michigan. And, obviously, being far from that in Columbia, she just felt that long-distance was too difficult to do. So, that was the reason why, there was no fight or issue between us or anything.

4. How long was your longest relationship? When was that?

 

My last one was two and ½ years. It was my senior year in high school to the spring semester of my sophomore year in college.

 

Dylan poses with his first girlfriend, several years after they dated, after senior homecoming in 2012.

Dylan poses with his first girlfriend, several years after they dated, after senior homecoming in 2012. Photo courtesy of Dylan Demkowicz.

5. What do you think are some of the differences between dating in high school versus dating in college?

It’s more like a party atmosphere in college; it’s all about going out and going to parties and being around a ton of other people. Whereas in high school, at least to me it felt like you could do more one-on-one stuff with somebody.

6. How would you describe the dating scene here at Mizzou?

 

Um, I wouldn’t call myself an expert in that *smirks and laughs.* I think a lot of people I know, if they’re going to actually date seriously, they meet through organizations or things they have common interests in. I don’t see a lot of ‘Hey, I met this girl at a bar and now we’re dating.’

7. How would you describe the dating scene for people age 18-22?

 

I think any big college campus is gonna give you a good idea of what it’s like for college-aged kids to date. I feel like a lot of people meet at parties, but aside from that I don’t have any real insight.

8. How do you normally meet people?

 

Honestly all the people I know who have had boyfriends or girlfriends that met at Mizzou met through an organization they’re both in.

9. Would you say that most of your friends have found long-term relationships at school? Why do you think that is?

 

Not at school, no. I would say the majority of people I know that are in long-term relationships were dating that person in high school and then came into college with that person.

Part of it is, I think, people who date someone from high school and come to college that’s what they know and that’s what they’re comfortable with And I think with school there are a lot of distractions. Like I said before, there’s a lot of it’s like a party scene and people just don’t want to be committed in college all the time. At least, that’s what I think the general population would say.

10. If you could tell your freshman self something about dating in college what would it be?

 

See it’s different because I was dating someone and I did for a long time after that, so I don’t know if I have anything to tell myself, but something I would tell a single person is just that there are so many people in college don’t rush into anything. Make sure you are really interested in that person before you decide to seriously date them.

Leave a Reply

