J2150: My introduction to the world of multimedia journalism

I remember my frustration building last semester when I logged into the application University of Missouri students like myself use to enroll in classes (myZou), only to see the journalism class I had been dying to sign up for (J2100, a news-writing course) would not allow me to enroll. I emailed my advisor, panic-stricken, and was left with only one option: sign up for J2150, a course that explores the rapidly changing field of multimedia journalism.

 

While many of my classmates had several years of experience using the equipment and software required for the class, the closest thing my high school had to a journalism course was our school newspaper. Whenever I thought about my schedule for the spring semester over winter break, I believed without a doubt that I would crash and burn in J2150. I am definitely not the most technologically gifted person, and even considering learning how to manually use a digital camera, camcorder, audio recorder, and several different kinds of editing software caused me to re-think my major more than once.

 

Tattoo artist Morgan Griffin inks a client on Thursday, April 18, 2014. Before taking J2150, I never would have believed that I could have taken a detail shot like the one above.

Tattoo artist Morgan Griffin inks a client on Thursday, April 18, 2014. Before taking J2150, I never would have believed that I could have taken a detail shot like the one above.

However, as each piece of equipment was introduced, and the software along with it, I gained confidence when I received higher grades on projects than expected. I corrected every issue in my work, learning what makes a truly good product in the process. Although I began the semester dreading my photo shoots for our seven-week project, I ended the semester thoroughly enjoying all the time I spent with my subject for our final project.

 

I am still not the biggest fan of editing audio and video, but I know as I improve it will take less time and become less tedious. This class has made me reconsider my original emphasis area (broadcast) and has opened my eyes to the many opportunities convergence offers.

 

It has also taught me that myZou may have had a plan for me all along.

One thought on “J2150: My introduction to the world of multimedia journalism

  1. Lindsay,

    I really enjoyed having you in class this semester and I’m glad you feel you learned a lot in 2150. Even though you didn’t know how to use the equipment and software when the class began, you paid attention in every lab, took every opportunity to resubmit assignments and learn from your mistakes, and the quality of your work reflects your dedication to journalism and the class. It’s been fun watching your skills develop and seeing your enjoyment in the final project!

    Good luck in the future at Mizzou and please let me know if I can help you with anything in your upcoming semesters!

Leave a Reply

