The Evolution of Spring Break

When I was younger, Spring Break was always a time to escape from school, relax, and gear up for the end of the semester. Most of my breaks consisted of my family and I traveling down to Florida to either visit my grandparents’ condo or spend several days in Disney World. However, after I entered college, I realized that Spring Break no longer seemed like a time to rejuvenate and spend time with family, but instead, consisted of hordes of students caravanning down south to party for a week straight.

 

While I do not judge what anyone decides to do with his or her time and I do plan on spending at least one Spring Break with my sorority sisters, it is extremely interesting to me how drastic the contrast is between high school and college breaks.

 

College students on Spring Break enjoy a concert on the beach in Cancun, Mexico. Every year, thousands of students descend on popular tropical destinations for a week-long party on the beach. Photo taken from http://www.studentcity.com.

College students on Spring Break enjoy a concert on the beach in Cancun, Mexico. Every year, thousands of students descend on popular tropical destinations for a week-long party on the beach. Photo taken from http://www.studentcity.com.

The influx of students to Florida, Alabama, Texas, and even Mexico has led some popular destinations to enforce strict rules to curb wild behavior. Although some parents believe my generation is the most immoral yet, warm weather locations like Fort Lauderdale, Florida, cracked down on Spring Breakers in the late 1980s. More recently, Cancun, Mexico began requiring students to sign a code of conduct upon entering the country.

 

I see nothing wrong with students wanting to let loose after a demanding first half of the semester, but I believe more locations should consider following Cancun’s example to prevent potentially dangerous situations that occur when thousands of college students descend on a beach.

One thought on “The Evolution of Spring Break

Leave a Reply

