Video Stories: My Struggle

Only 15 minutes had passed in the class, and I felt great about the video already shot. As I pressed the stop button and took a calming breath, I reminded myself to check the audio on my last interview. Without audio, there is no story. My heart immediately sank when my left earbud came within six inches of my ear and I could already hear the buzzing. There is almost no way to fix audio overpowered by a loud buzz. I floated through the rest of the shoot in a semi-daze, unsure of what to do next. How could this possibly be mended?

It is essential to monitor audio whenever multimedia elements of a story are involved. No audience will remain with a story that lacks quality audio. Photo taken from http://www.parentmap.com.

It is essential to monitor audio whenever multimedia elements of a story are involved. No audience will remain with a story that lacks quality audio. Photo taken from http://www.parentmap.com.

The project I was working on was the final portion of my enormous seven-week multimedia project for a journalism class. I had never struggled with any equipment troubles before, and it was just one more thing to add to the list, the list being the seemingly endless catalogue of points to remember while shooting video.

Because I have little to no experience with shooting footage, the litany can overwhelm me if I do not take precautions. By entering a shoot with a definitive plan, as Colin Mulvany, a multimedia producer at the Spokesman – Review in Spokane, Washington, suggests in his blog “How best to approach a video story,” I can ensure that I record all the material I need in an organized, efficient manner.

However, no matter how organized a journalist tries to be, something is bound to go wrong. I was lucky enough to download my video clips and discover that the audio was not affected by the mysterious buzzing, but I know I will not always be so fortunate.

2 thoughts on “Video Stories: My Struggle

  1. Hi Lindsay:

    I hope you don’t mind the red ink, but here are my suggestionse. Kudos on the embedded blog link!

    Only 15 minutes had passed in the class, and I felt great about the video already shot.  As I pressedPressingthe stop button and took  takinga calming breath, I reminded myself to check the audio on my last interview. Without audio, there is no storyThere is no story, without audio. My heart immediately sank when my left earbud came within six inches of my ear, and I could already hear the buzzing. There is almost no way to fix audio overpowered by a loud buzz. I floated through the rest of the shoot in a semi-daze, unsure of what to do next. How could this possibly be mended?  The project I was working on was the final portion of my enormous,seven-week multimedia project for a journalism class. I had never struggled with any equipment troubles before, and it was just one more thing to add to the list, the list being the seemingly endless catalogue of points to remember while shooting video.  Since Because[starting sentence with conjunction]I have little-to-no [adjectival construction]experience with shooting footage, the litany can overwhelm me if I do not take precautions. By entering a shoot with a definitive plan, as Colin Mulvany, a multimedia producer at the Spokesman – Review in Spokane, Washington, suggests in his blog “How best to approach a video story,” I can ensure that I record all the material I need in an organized, efficient manner.[very long sentence started with prep., suggest: Colin Mulvany, a multimedia producer at the Spokesman – Review in Spokane, WA, suggests in his blog “How best to approach a video story,” that by entering a shoot with a definitive plan, I can ensure that I record all needed material in a organized, efficient mannet.  However, no matter how organized a journalist tries to be, something is bound to go wrong. I was lucky enough to download my video clips and discover that the audio was not affected by the mysterious buzzing, but I know I will not always be so fortunate. Love,

      U. Doug

  2. Lindsay,

    Glad to hear your audio was not affected! It is great that you plan so meticulously for your projects/assignments because it really does help make the process smoother. I’m looking forward to watching your video on the 1st!

Leave a Reply

