Point, Focus, Shoot

I tend to believe I have a decent eye for photography. In high school, my pre-professional dance company would often venture out of the studio to pose gracefully by trees and bridges, and I frequently assisted my director in composing the most aesthetically appealing shot. However, that minimal experience did little to prepare me for my latest journalism assignment.

The title? “Seeing Red.” The goal? To focus on framing and arranging three pictures in which the color red is the primary subject. At first, the project did not seem all that daunting. Red is a fairly common color and the Missouri School of Journalism is generous enough to provide its students with the most-advanced, up-to-date camera equipment they could ever want.

Students enrolled in J2150 through the Missouri School of Journalism must put their newly learned photography skills to the test and capture three pictures in which red is the focus. Lindsay Gloor, freshman, plans to submit the above photograph.

Students enrolled in J2150 through the Missouri School of Journalism must put their newly learned photography skills to the test and capture three pictures in which red is the focus. Lindsay Gloor, freshman, plans to submit the above photograph.

The trick is figuring out how to use that equipment.

I have never been one to love the trial-and-error approach, so I spent roughly one half hour shoving down a sandwich and trying to match up dials, switches and buttons to my notes. Finally, I acknowledged my time limit and stepped into the brisk Columbian air.

My eyes immediately began scanning the street for any sign of the fiery hue. I wandered around the edge of campus and struggled to find my subject in a world that looked desolate and dreary. After clicking away at anything that could possibly resemble an interesting picture for close to two hours, my fingers stopped working and I was forced to stop.

With the help of CNN’s photojournalists’ tricks of the trade, I can only hope that three of my eighty-some pictures are satisfactory.

One thought on “Point, Focus, Shoot

  1. Great post Lindsay! It has everything you needed….a great title, conversational tone, photo with caption, and an outside link. I love that you included one of your photos and you did a good job with the caption. I’m glad you took lots of time and lots of photos to try and get the best ones possible. I have complete confidence that you will have at least three good ones in there 🙂 Also, I love the link! It fits perfectly with this post and looks like it offers a lot of good tips for taking great photos.

    Excellent job!

Leave a Reply

